(U.S.) of this had been disbursed and \$2,679,500,000 had been either repaid to the Bank or sold to other investors. Up to Dec. 31, 1964, the Bank had used or been able to allocate for lending the equivalent of approximately \$1,718,000,000 from paid-in capital, including the full \$75,000,000 of the paid-in portion of Canada's subscription.

International Finance Corporation.—The function of the International Finance Corporation, which is an affiliate of the IBRD, is to promote the growth of productive private enterprise by assisting private capital, by acting as a clearing house in bringing together investment opportunities and private capital and by helping to enlist managerial skill and experience when not otherwise available to a project. Of a total capital subscription of \$99,000,000 (U.S.), Canada has provided \$3,600,000.

International Development Association.—The IDA, also an affiliate of the IBRD, was established in September 1960 to meet the situation of a growing number of less-developed countries whose need for and ability to make use of outside capital is greater than their ability to service conventional loans. Consequently, the terms of IDA development credits are designed to impose far less burden on the balance of payments of borrowing countries than conventional loans. Credits extended to date have each been for a term of 50 years, bearing no interest. At the end of 1964, paid-in and prospective resources of IDA amounted to \$1,595,000,000 (U.S.). Prospective contributions to be paid in over the three years 1965-68 (subject to legislative authorization) will amount to \$750,000,000 (U.S.) of which Canada's share will be \$41,700,000 (U.S.). IDA began operations in November 1960 and extended its first development credit in May 1961. By Dec. 31, 1964, it had extended a total of 70 development credits totalling \$1,002,000,000 to 27 countries in Africa, Asia, the Middle East and the Western Hemisphere.

International Atomic Energy Agency.—Formed in 1957, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) is an autonomous international organization under the aegis of the United Nations. The Agency was given a mandate to seek to accelerate and enlarge the contribution of atomic energy to peace, health and prosperity throughout the world in a variety of ways. Because Canada has been designated as one of the five members most advanced in nuclear technology, including the production of source materials, a Canadian representative has served on the IAEA Board of Governors since the inception of the Agency. In 1964, Canada's Permanent Representative was elected Chairman of the Board.

During September, the IAEA sponsored the Third United Nations Conference on the Peaceful Uses of Atomic Energy. Nearly 3,700 delegates and observers from 77 countries took part. Canada sent a delegation of approximately 60 persons from industry and government. The main theme of the Conference was the production of nuclear power for peaceful purposes. This Conference was followed by the IAEA Eighth General Conference held at the Agency headquarters in Vienna. Atomic Energy of Canada Limited donated a \$30,000 Gammacell for research purposes at the Agency Laboratories in Vienna, which was installed in May 1964. Canada also made a voluntary contribution of \$57,600 to the General Fund to be applied to the Agency's technical assistance program, which placed Canada fourth in this respect after the United States, Britain and West Germany.

International Law Commission.—By Article 13(1) of the Charter of the United Nations, one of the purposes of the UN General Assembly is to encourage the progressive development of international law and its codification. In order to implement and to assist in this function, the International Law Commission was created by a General Assembly resolution dated Nov. 21, 1947. It is composed of 25 members who are elected in their individual capacity. They serve for terms of five years and, in general, represent the main forms of civilization and principal legal systems of the world. On Nov. 28, 1961, Canada's Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs was elected to membership of this Commission. The 25 countries whose nationals form, at present, the International Law Commission are: Afghanistan, Algeria, Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Britain, Canada.